Bringing an older photo to new life…

Image

Original Photo

Image

Updated Photo

It’s the dog days of summer, and where I live, in Austin, Texas, the heat is on! So, This is naturally a time of the year when, if I have nothing else scheduled, I will sometimes work in my studio creating still – lifes – or I may sort through my image library to see if there might be something I overlooked that would be worth working on. While browsing thru some of my earlier images, it dawned on me how much new technology – especially image processing software – has evolved in the last 5 to 10 years or so. I thought, what am I waiting for – with all of the great software and plug – ins I now have at my disposal and which I use every day on all of my current work, I can greatly improve on almost all of these almost forgotten images that I just kind of put away to languish in storage.

Today I am showing a recently updated work of an image which I shot about 10 years ago, when I was still living in Houston. The top image, is the original version which i processed in Photoshop mostly. I did not have any plug -ins to add enhancements so I did what I could with what I knew I could achieve in Photoshop by itself. Needless to say, the image was just ok, and kind of flat and visually uninteresting. (Back then I was still very much a novice at using Photoshop, and did not possess the knowledge or skills needed to really make this image “pop” like it should}.

To make this image of the frog in a pond “pop” I used one Photoshop plug – in: Nik Software’s Color Efex Pro 4. This is my workhorse plug – in that I use on almost every image I create now. I often will create several different versions, using different effects and enhancements each time, and then I will open them in Photoshop and using layers I will proceed to mask in or mask out the effects I like or don’t like, adjusting opacities, saturation, contrast, brightness, ect. as I go.

While the image editing software of today is light years ahead of what was available ten years ago, I personally can’t wait to see what will be coming down the pike in the future!

It can only get better from here!

Happy Shooting!

Best,

Chuck

Leave a Reply

